Battle of the Platformers Final Verdict


That Really Hot Chick          vs.          The Impossible Game

Well here is my final verdict: That Really Hot Chick is a slightly better game at the moment.

What does that mean? Well if you want to find out you have to do some reading.

Basically The Impossible Game is a simple game that works, there is no denying that. Now it works because:

1. It is easy to pick up and play
2. Nice checkpoint system for when people get frustrated
3. Simple Graphics, with synced music

Where The Impossible Game fails:

1. 1 level

That Really Hot Chick works because:

1. 5 levels
2. Secrets in each level (that require you to follow a more difficult path, and still finish the level)
3. Good music (I am a rock/metal fan) that is synced with gameplay

Where That Really Hot Chick fails:

1. Broken save system
2. Graphics are a bit confusing (even though it is the motive of them, it is still a bit annoying)

The developer of TRHC wants to fix these problems, and I hope he can. The save system being broken means that there is none. Period. There are 5 levels and you can unlock 2 and 3 by getting halfway through the 1st level, and level 4 by beating level one. Also, because of the lack of a save system, you cant have all 4 unlocked at once. This basically means to beat the whole game at this moment, you would have to beat all the levels in a sitting. This is doable, but would take a ton of practice.  The first level is the worst level, which is unfortunate for trial purposes. The first level has about 1 minute of gameplay where you don’t need to do anything, which makes failure all the more frustrating. Once you get the hang of the level, beating half of it to gain access to 2 and 3 will be a piece of cake. Those are were the game starts to really shine through.

Still, through all of this, I recommend That Really Hot Chick above The Impossible Game. TRHC has 5 levels (you can beat at least the first 4 without much pain other than playing the first level through again) and better music in my opinion. I feel like it is a deeper game, and if its flaws are ironed out I would have no problem putting this game in my top ten, I just can’t do that with a game with a broken save system. Fans of the Impossible Game, get That Really Hot Chick.

By the way, I bolded that sentence so people would take notice and could easily find it to make sure they read right.

About Dcon
Just a 20 something dude who like to think a lot about things, sometimes even write about them.

8 Responses to Battle of the Platformers Final Verdict

  1. John says:

    Hey, we’re still trying to fix the save thing, but one thing I did notice is that when you exit the game completely, it brings back all your saved data, it just seems to temporarily initialize it when you quit a level for some reason, and that’s the only thing that causes it. Still a pain in the rear, and we’re still going to fix it, but in case you wanted a temporary solution if you wanted to attempt to progress further.

    • Dcon6393 says:

      So if I am playing level 1 I should just go to the dashboard instead of hitting start quit? That would be a huge help as opposed to what I have figured out now. Thanks for fixing it though. will definitely make the game a ton better. I love the game even more know that I am past the first level, which is the worst unfortunately.

      • Dcon6393 says:

        Hmmm that didnt seem to work for me I did it when I have levels 1-4 unlocked at the same time and when I only had 1-3 unlocked. And I got code 4 once.

      • John says:

        Ah, it must be different on the Xbox. The patch is done, its waiting to be approved, of course, the review process on App Hub is ridiculously slow. There are even people trying to get me to take it down (which would require me to wait an extra week to get this patch out) because I accidentally put the localization to every language, which I can’t change unless I take it down or release a new patch.

      • Dcon6393 says:

        wow you got that done quick. But I don’t see how the localization being in every language would be such a bad thing. Hopefully they don’t get it taken down

  2. Pingback: Battle of the Platformers « Xbox Indie News and Reviews

  3. Pingback: First Impressions, The Impossible Game vs. That Really Hot Chick « Xbox Indie News and Reviews

  4. Pingback: Indie Games Summer Uprising — Final Notes « Xbox Indie News and Reviews

Leave a Reply

